Save a Workout as a Template / Update a Template when completing a Workout

The following instructions apply to the iPhone and Android versions of Strong.

To save time when recording workouts, you can save workouts as templates so you can perform them again in the future. 

Saving a Workout as a Template

If you performed a workout from an Empty Workout, after completing the workout, you will be prompted to save a workout as a New Template.

Simply give the workout a name and it will be saved into your Library to be performed again in the future.

Note: You can also save a workout as a template from the history screen.

Updating an Existing Template after a Workout

If you performed a workout from a template, and you make changes to the original routine during a workout, you will be prompted to Update Template (i.e. to save changes) or to Keep Original Template - leave the Template unchanged.

Depending on how you modified the original template, you will be presented with different options:

  • Update Template. Replaces the entire template with the workout just performed. This will be displayed in Red if this is destructive (for example, you removed exercises from the template)
  • Update Values Only. Updates the template with the weights and reps that you used for that workout).
  • Update Template and Values. Replaces the entire template with the workout just performed, including any changes made to values within sets.
  • Keep Original Template. Leave the original template completely unchanged.

If you prefer not to see this prompt at all, you can also hide it via Strong Settings.

We will be making adjustments to the Update Template process in future versions of Strong to reduce confusion.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the insight! There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us